I am thrilled to be on the book tour today to give you a preview of Beasts Made of Night, a YA Nigerian fantasy that releases on Halloween.  The October 31st release date is perfect for a book that features such haunting descriptions of brutal battles with sin-beasts that leave the Aki marked by sin, both physically and emotionally, a dark, injust world run by the wealthy, poverty and income disparity.  This is a dark, dark tale with a unique world.  Many recommend it for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor, but I would also tell fans of slow-burn fantasy, like The Bone Witch and Strange the Dreamer, to pick this one up.  Today’s preview will feature bookish aesthetics plus, a giveaway.

ABOUT THE BOOK

 Beasts Made of Night GIF

 

Debut author Tochi Onyebuchi delivers an unforgettable fantasy adventure that powerfully explores the true meaning of justice and guilt. Packed with dark magic and thrilling action, Beasts Made of Night is a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor. In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts—lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt.

Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj’s livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but 17-year-old Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family.

When Taj is called to eat a sin of a member of the royal family, he’s suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves—and his own life.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Tochi
Tochi Onyebuchi is a Nigerian American writer and a practicing attorney based in New York City. He holds a MFA in screenwriting from Tisch, a Masters degree in global economic law from L’institut d’études politiques, and a JD from Columbia Law School. His writing has appeared in Asimov’s and Ideomancer, among other places. Beasts Made of Night is his debut series. You can follow him @tochitruestory.

BOOK AESTHETIC

For a book grounded in so much action, sin and death, there is also an ethereal feeling to this tome. I hope I’ve managed to capture it with my aesthetic.

Aesthetic #4

GIVEAWAY

Click on the link below to enter for a chance to be one (1) of three (3) winners to receive a hardcover copy of Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi. (ARV: $17.99 each).

RAFFLECOPTER LINK

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on October 23, 2017 and 12:00 AM on November 13, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about November 15, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

BLOG TOUR

Please visit all our friends on tour with us and see what amazing content they have in store!

Week One:
October 23The Bookavid – Author Guest Post | On What it Means Writing African Rep in YA
October 24Alexa Loves Books – Bookish Style File
October 25Boricuan Bookworms – Review & Bookish Aesthetics
October 26Afire Pages – Review
October 27YA Wednesdays – Book Aesthetic
Week Two:
October 30One Way or an Author – Review & Art
October 31YA Bibliophile – Author Guest Post | Top 5 Favorite Fantastical Worlds
November 1Chasing Faerytales – Author Guest Post | NEED TOPIC
November 2Icey BooksBeasts Made of Night Quote Candy
November 3Across the Words – Author Q&A
Week Three:
November 6A Page With a View – Author Guest Post | Images that Inspired Beasts Made of Night
November 7The Royal Polar Bear Reads – Review
November 8Xpresso Reads – Review
November 9YA and Wine – Review
November 10Brittany’s Book Rambles – Author Q&A
Beasts Made of Night is also a Penguin Teen Wicked Read. You can win a copy of it along with 8 OTHER BOOKS by entering this GIVEAWAY today.
~Carmen
Advertisements