I do not exaggerate when I say that I believe that Akata Witch has the most stunning  cover makeover in all of YA.  I simply can not take my eyes off of it.  That is why I am so thrilled to be part of the paperback release blog tour.  Today, I feature a fashion set inspired by the new Akata Witch paperback cover.

 

ABOUT THE BOOK

World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor weaves together a story of magic, mystery, and finding one’s place in the world–for fans of Ursula Le Guin and Diana Wynne Jones.
Twelve-year-old Sunny lives in Nigeria, but she was born American. Her features are African, but she’s albino. She’s a terrific athlete, but can’t go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits. And then she discovers something amazing-she is a “free agent,” with latent magical power. Soon she’s part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But will it be enough to help them when they are asked to catch a career criminal who knows magic too?

Goodreads // Amazon // Book Depository

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Nnedi Okorafor

Nnedi Okorafor was born in the United States to two Igbo (Nigerian) immigrant parents. She holds a PhD in English and is a professor of creative writing at Chicago State University. She has been the winner of many awards for her short stories and young adult books, and won a World Fantasy Award for Who Fears Death. Nnedi’s books are inspired by her Nigerian heritage and her many trips to Africa. She lives in Chicago with her daughter Anyaugo and family. She can be contacted via her website, www.nnedi.com.

 

FASHION

I put together my fashion aesthetic set and attempted to feature as many Nigerian designers and influences as possible. Since Sunny is albino, I featured South African model Thando Hopa in full make-up for the make-up aesthetic of this post.

Through my research, I found a Nigerian designer that I wanted to feature.  His name is Duro Olowu.  He began his women’s ready-to-wear line in 2004 and his empire-waist patchwork “Duro” dress was named “Dress of the Year” by both American and British Vogue in 2005.  He’s a London-based fashion designer who draws on his Nigerian roots and combines and plays with patterns and textures uniquely his own.

Duro Olowu

 

GIVEAWAY

RAFFLECOPTER LINK

Enter for a chance to win one (1) of five (5) sets that include the paperback of AKATA WITCH and a galley of AKATA WARRIOR (ARV: $10.99 each).
 
NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Enter between 12:00 AM Eastern Time on July 17th, 2017 and 12:00 AM on August 7, 2017.  Open to residents of the fifty United States and the District of Columbia who are 13 and older. Winners will be selected at random on or about August 5, 2017. Odds of winning depend on number of eligible entries received. Void where prohibited or restricted by law.

 

BLOG TOUR

Please check out the reviews and creative content from all our extremely gifted blogging friends!
Week One:
July 17 – An AfroBoricua Reads – Review
July 18 – YA and Wine – Review & Wine Pairing
July 19 – A Page With A View – Top 10 Books for HP Fans
July 20 – NovelKnight – The Sorting Hat
July 21YA Wednesdays – Fashion Inspired by Akata Witch
Week Two:
July 24Wandering Bark Books – Spotlight
July 25Bibliophile Gathering – Review
July 26Dazzled by Books – Review
July 27What Sarah Read – Review & Mood Board
July 28Alexa Loves Books – Review
Week Three:
July 31Here’s to Happy Endings – Review
August 2Once Upon a Twilight – Spotlight
August 3Books 4 Your Kids
August 4Hollywood News SourceAkata Witch Excerpt
 

Finally, I wanted to leave you with one more shot of Thando, which struck as resembling the aesthetic of the Akata Witch & Akata Warrior covers.

thando-hopa.jpg

~Carmen

Advertisements