When I tell people that I read YA, the standard responses are:

  1. Twilight? LOL
  2. I really love The Hunger Games!
  3. I LOVED THE FAULT IN OUR STARS!

John Green is the de facto star of YA to those who aren’t in the know. It’s been 5 years since his super-mega hit, The Fault In Our Stars, was published and 3 years since a movie was made.  We’ve known for a while that he’d been writing a new novel, but I was surprised when it was announced last month that his upcoming YA novel, Turtles All The Way Down, would be published this year.  Specifically, October 10th.  Naturally, the internet went bonkers and just a few days later, John tweeted this.

 

I got to thinking about other YA authors releasing the same day as John, who may not have as many tip-in sheets to sign.  What if they’re new and/or marginalized authors?  How could I help spread the word about those books?  After a quick review of my Goodreads TBR, I discovered that it just so happens that there are ten other books already on our radar releasing on the same day as John’s.  Find out what books you should also be adding to your 10/10 TBR and enter for  your chance to win your very own pre-order after the jump!

 

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

Forest of A Thousand Lanters by Julie C Dao UPDATED

An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl’s quest to become Empress–and the darkness she must unleash to achieve her destiny.  Roshani Chokshi calls it “searing and intense, Dao’s debut is an outstanding character exploration of fairytales’ most enduring and enigmatic characters: the Evil Queen. Equal parts lush and devastating, this is a tale that will grab you by the throat.”

Amazon // Book Depository

 

Dare Mighty Things by Heather Kaczynski

Dare Mighty Things by Heather Kaczynski.jpg

For fans of The Selection, Cinder and Illuminae.  A brilliant Indian-American NASA intern must compete against the best and brightest people on the planet in order to travel to the further reaches of outer space.

Amazon // Book Depository

 

Gray Wolf Island by Tracey Neithercott

gray-wolf-island-by-tracey-neithercott

Not only are there comparisons to The Raven Boys, but Kayla Olson author of The Sandcastle Empire says this book is “Full of mystery, magic, and secrets—along with a good number of things that broke my heart—I could not read this book fast enough.”

Amazon // Book Depository

 

A Skinful of Shadows by Frances Hardinge

A Skinful of Shadows by Frances Hardinge

A dark historical fantasy set in the early part of the English Civil War. Kate is an illegitimate daughter of the aristocratic Fellmotte family, and as such, she shares their unique hereditary gift: the capacity to be possessed by ghosts. Reluctant to accept her appointed destiny as vessel for a coterie of her ancestors, she escapes. As she flees the pursuing Fellmottes across war-torn England, she accumulates a motley crew of her own allies, including outcasts, misfits, criminals, and one extremely angry dead bear.

Amazon // Book Depository

 

Echo After Echo by Amy Rose Capetta

Echo After Echo by Amy Rose Capetta

This GLBT romance/mystery will literally have you on the edge of your seat:  “Debuting on the New York stage, Zara is unprepared—for Eli, the girl who makes the world glow; for Leopold, the director who wants perfection; and for death in the theater.”

Amazon // Book Depository

 

This Darkness Mine by Mindy McGinnis

This Darkness Mine by Mindy McGinnis

Mindy McGinnis always surprises and enthralls:  “Sasha Stone knows her place—first-chair clarinet, top of her class, and at the side of her oxford-wearing boyfriend. She’s worked her entire life to ensure that her path to Oberlin Conservatory as a star musician is perfectly paved. But suddenly there’s a fork in the road, in the shape of Isaac Harver.”

Amazon // Book Depository

 

Last Star Burning by Caitlin Sangster

Last Star Burning

Although it’s categorized as a fantasy novel, many reviewers have called it more of a dystopian road journey:  “Sev is branded with the mark of a criminal—a star burned into her hand. That’s the penalty for being the daughter of the woman who betrayed their entire nation. Now her mother’s body is displayed above Traitor’s Arch, kept in a paralyzed half sleep by the same plague that destroyed the rest of the world. And as further punishment, Sev is forced to do hard labor to prove that she’s more valuable alive than dead.”

Amazon // Book Depository

 

The Knowing by Sharon Cameron

the-knowing-by-sharon-cameron

The second book in The Forgetting series.  “Samara doesn’t forget. And she isn’t the only one. Safe underground in the city of New Canaan, she lives in a privileged world free from the Forgetting. Yet she wonders if she really is free, with the memories that plague her and secrets that surround her. Samara is determined to unearth the answers, even if she must escape to the old, cursed city of Canaan to find them.”

Amazon // Book Depository

 

Into the Bright Unknown by Rae Carson

Into the Bright Unknown by Rae Carson

The Gold Seer Trilogy is a interpretation of Gold Rush-Era American History where one Ms. Leah Westfall has a magical ability to sense gold.  The first two books have been a sweeping adventures as she struggles to hide her secret and escape danger.  I am very much looking forward to the epic conclusion to the magical adventure.

Amazon // Book Depository

All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater

All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater

The author of The Raven Cycle series returns with an extraordinary story of an extraordinary family, a masterful tale of love, fear, darkness, and redemption.

Amazon // Book Depository

 

GIVEAWAY

One winner will receive a pre-order of one of the 10 books from this post! Entering is easy! See rules below.

Blog Banner #2

  1. THIS GIVEAWAY HAS ENDED
  2. Winner will be announced at noon on Friday, July 14th via comment response
  3. Winner will have 24 hours from notification to follow instructions to claim prize.

 

Good luck and happy reading!

~Carmen

Advertisements