Halloween coming up on Saturday means it’s time to get our SPOOKY READS on!  So excited to have read and recommend these to help get you in the mood for October 31st!

  1. Slasher Girls and Monster Boys compiled by April Genevieve Tucholke.  This compilation of scary short stories includes some of YA’s best writers, such as Cat Winters, Leigh Bardugo, Jay Kristoff, Marie Lu, Carrie Ryan, McCormick Templeman, and AG Howard to name a few.  We reviewed this as our #firstreadsfriday selection a few weeks ago and pretty much loved the quality and variety of scary stories all around.
  2. The Accident Season by Moira Fowley Doyle:  This spooky, magical, Irish ghost story set in a contemporary setting is sure to get your skin prickling with its surprising twists and turns.  This was our September Book Club pick and you can see for yourself, Ann & Carmen have two different takes on this one.
  3. The Uninvited by Cat Winters.  We reviewed this a few months back and loved it.  Winters, yet again, created a World War I era novel where you are steeped in the mythology of the time while surrounded by supernatural and ghostly goings-on.  If you’re not familiar with her work, she incorporates these same themes in a distinctive manner in her debut YA novel, In the Shadow of Blackbirds.
  4.  The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black.  This is a dark fairy tale where magic, faeries and the supernatural unfold into a modern day urban fantasy. Things are not what they seem in this town where a boy sleeps in a glass casket in the forest and then wakes one day, leaving an empty casket and a town in chaos.
  5. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black. Holly Black’s vampire tale with a dystopian twist is hard to describe but easy to love. Once you sink your teeth into Coldtown you won’t let go.  There’s a reason Holly Black appears on this list twice. She has a way with spooky. Check out our full review of The Coldest Girl in Coldtown.
  6. Dreamland by Robert L. Anderson. What happens when the things in your dreams start to appear in real life and the things in your nightmares soon follow? Anderson gives the phrase “life is but a dream” an ominous new meaning in his debut novel. For a full review check our September #FirstReadsFriday post.
  7. The Devil and Winnie Flynn by Micol Ostow and David Ostow. Fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Scream will love this paranormal tale of the weirdest summer internship ever. Micol kills the dialogue while David supplies the visuals. The perfect read for your Halloweekend. For a full review check our September #FirstReadsFriday post.
  8. A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis. Set in an insane asylum, this dark historical thriller should be read by candlelight on a dark stormy night. For a full review, check our October #FirstReadsFriday post.

Read any (or all) of these selections to get you in the Halloween spirit!

Advertisements